Check out Amsterdam Affordable Art Fair this week with IVES.one from Project Amsterdam Street Art.

26 Oct

IVES.one

Just walk around Amsterdam and as in any city, there is FREE street art to find, without even having to step foot in a gallery!

The Amsterdam Affordable Art Fair www.affordableartfair.nl is kicking off this week, so get yourself down there to check out or buy some contemporary street art for your wall!

Affordable Art Fair Campaign Image

You can find IVES.one with Project Amsterdam Street Art at the B12 stall and he was kind enough to give an interview.

IVES.one

MAKE: How did you get into street art?

IVES.one: I started with GRAFFITI in 1994/1995. Several years after that, I also began liking more kinds of art and photography. So with that came exploring other techniques and methods for making my ART in the form of for example stencils and posters. The techniques I now use are generally called street art. Since 5 years I started to make more of this which is kind of the only thing I do now.

MAKE: There is more of a commercial approach to street art now do you think this is a good thing, or does it take away the “street ” unique appeal of art?

IVES.one: I’m still a bit of in a struggle on this one. I think it’s a good thing, because creative minds can work on what they love without being a BUM. I make what I love and if people like it and want to pay for it to, than that’s cool. But I think there is another side on the story also. What I mean with that is that there can be people who call themselves artists, but actually never put something on the STREETS. How can you call it STREETART then? This a tendency which I think is wrong.

IVES.one

MAKE: Is Amsterdam your clear favourite base as a street artist and how do other cities compare?

IVES.one: Amsterdam is my city, my hometown. That doesn’t mean that I don’t love to travel around to spread my work. I want people to see my work as much as possible. It’s a campaign. I think we got a alright scene, but there are much better or suitable city’s/ country’s like England or the US to work and/ or sell my artwork.

MAKE: How are you involved in the AAF this year?

IVES.one: I’m involved as an artist of project ASA. They invited 6 artists to show their work on there stand and I’m one of them. I will also do a LIVE ART performance with RECAL.ONE www.recalone.com on the premiere opening.

MAKE: What do you think the AAF brings to Amsterdam in the way of support to new creative’s in Amsterdam?

IVES.one: I’m not sure, because in the end it’s the choice of the gallery’s who will appear in the stands. Project ASA and the GO gallery will present STREETART. For the other gallery’s, I don’t know. What I do I know is that the AAF likes the tendency of the contemporary art that involves STREETART. They support it.

MAKE: You are also a founder of UmbrellART can you explain more about this and when the next show is?

UMBRELLART http://umbrellart.blogspot.com/ is a group show that has more than 50 customized umbrellas. In the first year I invited all the artists to customize their own umbrellas and sent them to me. The following year I got help from Melissa with the organization. We all showed them for three years in a row at several places like the FOAM www.foam.nl

in Amsterdam and OFF CORSO www.offcorso.nl in Rotterdam. Because of the time it takes and my personal artwork, I decided to make a little break and will show old and NEW umbrellas in 2012.

Umberella Art.

MAKE: And any new projects coming up, what are your future plans?

IVES.one: I’m busy with my SOLO show in march/ april in Amsterdam. Also there will come a new show that involves me and 3 other Dutch artist, but at the moment that’s all I can say it.

Also I’m working with RECAL.ONE as a combo IVES’RECAL, which is a great side project that involves the combo between stencil work and photorealistic painting. This project will be amazing and is also planned for 2011.

At the moment I’m busy as a CREATIVE DIRECTOR for Project ASA (www.amsterdamstreetart.com <http://www.amsterdamstreetart.com> ) and doing commercial assignments.

Just like working with MOKUM ZOO and XSC.

Shout out to: RECAL.ONE , TIQUE , BO24 , AMER , The London Police , SJOCO SJON and BUST

End.

IVES.one what a nice chap!

And when I asked why did he call himself IVES, as I’m kinda partial to that name myself, he simply said  “I chose my name cause I thought it sounded nice,” well you can’t blame him can you!

MAKE will be heading along to the AAF this year, we suggest you do too!

Affordable Art Fair

28th – 31st October 2010

Cultuurpark Westergasfabriek Amsterdam
Contemporary Art from €100 to €5000

www.affordableartfair.nl

http://www.amsterdamstreetart.com

http://twitter.com/project_asa

www.recalone.com

http://umbrellart.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

